An Apology

It has been pointed out to me by a number of angry e-mail writers that my previous post, a short film which featured my revolutionary toetappingly catchy Mothering Sunday rap video “Respect Your Mum”, could be possibly misunderstood as a patriarchal and misogynistic attempt to propagate the – clearly incorrect – notion that women should be restricted to subservient positions of domesticity.

I understand why the piece of music, innocently intended as nothing else other than a heartfelt Mother’s Day tribute, caused offence…

So I want to say to you, yes, that I have behaved badly sometimes. Yes, it is true that I was on rowdy movie sets and I have done things that were not right which I thought then was playful but now I recognize that I have offended people. And to those people that I have offended, I want to say to them I am deeply sorry about that and I apologize because this is not what I’m trying to do.

And anyway, if you’re looking for rap songs to criticize for misogynism there’s plenty bigger bitch-ing fish to fry.

PEACE x

Leave a Reply

