The Flags of Disunion

The Flag of Cornwall

Brixton Blog has spent a long Easter weekend in Cornwall. However, she was still thinking of the homeland when she took this photograph for my benefit. It is Saint Piran’s Flag, otherwise known as the Cornish flag. It’s a good flag. Very striking. I like its darkness. Points the imagination to a troubled rebel heart. And best of all, it’s very visible in Kernow.

It set me thinking of the various – often unofficial – flags of local identity within both the “United” Kingdom, of which this is one of the most prominent, and the rest of the world.

I should like to share some with you…

The Flag of Yorkshire

I am half-Yorkshirean, on my mother’s side.

Ikurrina, the Basque Flag

Bares a similarity with the South London flag, don’t you think?

The Flag of Tibet

Beautiful, poignant. I bet the authorities ban the South London flag from East London in 2012…

The Flag of the Confederate States of America

The South Will Rise Again!

The Flag of Devon

The Devonian flag is interesting as its adoption was so recent (in the last decade) and therefore showcases that it is never too late to embrace identity & forge tradition anew.

And finally, of course…

The Flag of South London

2 Responses to “The Flags of Disunion”

  1. I’ll be damned if I don’t make the flag of South London into a patch for my arm. Damned I say

  2. When some one searches for his required thing, so he/she needs
    to be available that in detail, so that thing
    is maintained over here.

Leave a Reply

